Rinjani – Not Just A Place to Hike On (Part 2)

Hey, It’s been long time no write (again and again). I’ve just finished my brunch (breakfast lunch) with Abby, internship student from Netherlands, and talked about our experience climbing mountain. This conversation reminds me that I should continue my story   hehehe but I can’t promise that the story will be end today because I have so many things to do. so here we continue…

 

Day 5 – Summit attack

In the last posting, I told that we were going to summit attack in the middle of the night. It took about seven hours climb up the peak, at the first time I guessed that the reason why we should climb up in the night just because we want to see the first sunlight, it’s sunrise. Nevertheless, at that time, the track was too crowded, I was not sure that they had the same reason with us, then I realised that wasn’t the only one reason. My friend told me that it’s a must to plan summit attack in the middle of the night because  in the day, the peak will be covered by fog, so it will endanger everyone who wants to get the peak because the tracks will be like disappear. Hiiii.

Back to the journey, there were some people who already fell down and almost give up to keep walking even one of our partner lied down on the rocks just like wanted to continue his sleeping and forget about that tiring walk. At the same time, there was a tourist who saw him and guessed that my friend was died there, so he was so panic and tried to wake him up and shake his body. My friend who already fell asleep felt like distracted by him and just said “I am okay, thanks”. LOL. While walking, we didn’t talk much, maybe it was because we felt so tired and wanting to use our energy effectively. In the silent, suddenly my friend asked me, what was my ultimate reason to reach the peak, he said that it was been too far and tiring journey and it wasn’t our only one aim too, he had no reason to finish the track but he saw us, especially girls didn’t feel the same. Then, I answered him.

“For me, It’s true that the peak isn’t my ultimate aim, I just call it as special bonus. You may take if you want or just take it another time. But for me, this trip maybe the first and only one trip I should take because I can’t go here anytime I want, I need special package like good friends, free time, and energy. So, this is the right time to reach that place, with good friends like you”

Surprisingly, after all these conversation, we just continue our “tiring but beautiful” journey and he was the first one who can reach the peak, yeah, I knew that he deserved that. After him, I and others finally standing on the highest place in rinjani mountain. We felt so proud and the most important was, to feel grateful to God that we could through the way despite it seemed to be impossible at first. But after all, yeah we made it!

Rinjani, Yeah, We Made it!

One response to “Rinjani – Not Just A Place to Hike On (Part 2)”

  1. wow rinjani ra ngajak :3

Leave a comment